: :inin Kyiv (EET)

December EP Plenary Session: Human rights in focus: Yazidi activists win Sakharov Prize

Written by Clare Ferguson with Jack Meredith,
European Union 2015 – EP
Yazidi survivors and public advocates Nadia Murad Busee and Lamiya Aji Bashar will receive the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought – the European Parliament’s recognition of human rights activism, bestowed annually – on Tuesday. Parliament’s Conference of Presidents selected the activists on 27 October, ahead of the other finalists: Turkish journalist Can Dündar and fellow defenders of freedom of expression in Turkey; and Crimean Tatar leader Mustafa Dzemilev. Since Murad Busee and Bashar’s escape from ISIL/Da’esh imprisonment and slavery, following the invasion of their hometown in Sinjar/Iraq, and the …read more

Source: European Parliamentary Research Service Blog

Researches about Ukraine

This website is created to observe information about Ukraine in the world think tansk and research institutes.
More information about project you can read here

Share This

Share this post with your friends!